Life as a New Mom

A first-time mom adjusting to her new everything

A kick-off!

Leave a comment

I’ve been trying to think of a clever way to start these posts, and suddenly it occurred to me: a Father’s Day post!

Yes, technically my husband is not exactly a father yet, but considering he’s only got 4 1/2 months to go, I thought it deserved some recognition.  There’s also the fact he’s put up with me for the past 4 1/2 months, with the crabbiness, fatigue, and nausea, and being a champ like that practically screams for a special day where I’m extra nice to him.

The thing about my husband is that he really doesn’t care about “things”.  For the first few holidays we spent together, back when we were dating, I got him stuff, but one year for Christmas, I took him to a resort to look at Christmas lights because he had mentioned he enjoys them.  That’s when he told me he cares far more about spending time with the people he loves than getting a particular item.  He loves sharing experiences with his family, and so now I make it a point to gift him experiences instead.  That might mean he only gets one gift a year, instead of something on each holiday, or one really awesome experience and some small, daytime ones.  A small, daytime experience was perfect for Father’s Day, as an “I love you” and as a “thank you for putting up with me.”

I took him out to a park near us, rented a boat and we spent almost 2 hours out on the water.  It was a rowboat though, and that worked against my master plan as I hadn’t really wanted him to have to do the manual labor…but he picked it, so I can go with the flow on that.  It was so lovely to just be out there, together, and not talk about anything in particular.  Sometimes I think of the comic that said once you live with someone, you talk more, but communicate less.  That’s not something I want for my family, and it throws into relief how special these moments are.  After boating, I took him out for dinner to a place we’d never tried before, where we got to continue just enjoying the company of the other.

He thought I was being silly for making a big deal out of something he doesn’t think applies to him, but honestly?  I’m glad I did it, because it made me feel good to do something for someone I love so much and not be told “you don’t have to do that.”  A perfect excuse to do something I enjoy.

Author: Torra

A librarian, dog owner, tea drinker, and lover of all things unusual and literary.

Leave a Reply

