Life as a New Mom

A first-time mom adjusting to her new everything

Pterodactyls

Leave a comment

I had my 18 week ultrasound yesterday, and some of this 3-d/4-d imaging is some freaky stuff. I can’t understand why anyone would actively seek it out, but hey, to each their own. We did get a silver lining out of the whole thing, and that is an ultrasound image that makes baby look like a pterodactyl. That is what I call a keepsake.

Everything else checked out fine, which was a bit of a relief. I’m sure no one wants to hear that there are markers for spina bifida or any defects, and since we opted out of screening, this was when we were going to get any bad news. Fortunately, my only issue is getting another medically necessary ultrasound at 28 weeks because of a “low-lying placenta.” Apparently baby likes using it as a pillow (that’s according to the ultrasound tech, who saw it being used exactly that way and me making inferences because I can).

We also went ahead and found out what we’re having – maybe this makes me terrible, but I was so relieved when the gender was the one I was hoping for. Long story short, there are some health issues in my immediate family that seem to affect one gender more than the others, and knowing that I don’t have to worry about it for my child is a weight off my shoulders. I know people will say it doesn’t matter what you get as long as they’re healthy, but while that would be true for a boy or girl until middle age, once they hit that and you know there’s all this crap they might have to deal with, I’m pretty sure you’d hope for the opposite as well.

Author: Torra

A librarian, dog owner, tea drinker, and lover of all things unusual and literary.

Leave a Reply

