Life as a New Mom

A first-time mom adjusting to her new everything

How I started hemoraging money

Leave a comment

Having no money is something I guess I need to get used to.

Right now, I’m in the process of setting as much up in the nursery as I can. I’m not due until the end of November, but I’d rather get as much done now as I can while I still feel pretty maneuverable, even though my energy is way down from its normal levels. We’ve gotten all furniture set up, except a bookcase, and the room is freshly painted with some wall appliques added.

Because I’m also slightly crazy, I really wanted to have clothes in sizes going all the way up to 12 months. You can never be 100% sure how quickly a baby will grow and I’d like to have something to use instead of have to go out because I have no choice. You just know that’s going to be the day you’re tired, baby is sick, and you just know you can’t squeeze baby into those clothes for another day! I’ve gotten bottles, and blankets, and I have to say…I feel like someone amputated my wallet and from the wound gushes a stream of dollars and cents. I knew it was going to be expensive to get everything that’s actually necessary, much less a lot of the “nice-to-haves”, but good lord! There is no earthly reason a stroller needs to be $120.

To be fair, some of the things I got were more expensive, but I bought a lot of convertible items – crib, 2 car seats, stroller, and I’m planning on a dual purpose high chair. Those are more expensive at the start-up, but I’m hoping long-term I’ll save myself not only money but time and hassle when I can just switch to the next stage of use, rather than go and buy another one. Nevertheless, something seems shady to me, in all this money I’m spending for things that were built with shelf lives or limited use. I’m looking at you, baby clothes! My husband doesn’t even know how much I’ve spent, nor do I think he has any idea.  What I didn’t get from my shower, I got myself because I’m trying to lessen the financial burden on him right now.

I just know the storm has barely begun.  Any money-saving tips out there you want to share?

Author: Torra

A librarian, dog owner, tea drinker, and lover of all things unusual and literary.

Leave a Reply

