Life as a New Mom

A first-time mom adjusting to her new everything

A new day, new discomforts

Leave a comment

I’ve reached a milestone in this pregnancy.  I am no longer comfortable, anywhere, at any time.  Is there anyone out there who was ever excited by this moment in time?  I doubt it.  Doctors have tried to sugar the issue, saying things like “your baby is growing and it’s healthy!”  At this point, I can’t say that I care too much about that.  I’m going to assume for the duration that unless told otherwise, things are progressing as they should.  And I think a fetus is remarkably hardy, considering, so my exercising or lifting a box of books is unlikely to alter that.  Therefore, I am not going to be excited by the fact that my body is doing its job.  I am going to be annoyed by the fact it has betrayed me in favor of a fetus.

For over 2 weeks I’ve had pain in my hip such that I can barely walk.  Fortunately, my work schedule has involved some late days and a 4 day work-week – an extra day of rest is something I really appreciate.  But even with the extra rest, I still have the pain every day, any time I move the joint, sit on it (unavoidable) or walk.  It got bad enough that yesterday I called the doctor and left a message describing it and what I’ve done, wanting to know if I could put this off until my appointment next Tuesday.  I got a call back within an hour, and they bumped my appointment up to Friday.  We’ll see what happens then.  I hope something that fixes it.

Author: Torra

A librarian, dog owner, tea drinker, and lover of all things unusual and literary.

Leave a Reply

