Life as a New Mom

A first-time mom adjusting to her new everything

Let’s talk more about your problems – dip?

Leave a comment

Now that I’ve got less than a month to go, and no worries about Baby’s health to focus on, I am taking up a new hobby: dodging the question “Are you pregnant??”

I’ve been fortunate that I haven’t really started to show until now, and most people think I’m about 3 months along.  Go, go, gadget abdominal muscles.  But my parents raised me with the belief that it is never appropriate to comment on someone’s appearance unless they bring it up first.  I work with a population that habitually over-shares information and has less sense of personal boundaries, making it more important that I maintain strict professionalism.  As such, I do not, ever, discuss my health or personal life at work with students.

I understand that they’re excited and it’s not coming from a malicious place, but when you approach someone you only interact with professionally the exchange should not follow this script:

“Oh my, you’re PREGNANT!!!” with a hand outstretched to touch said person.

Those are the encounters I’ve been having.  I don’t know why so many labor under the mistaken idea that it’s acceptable to touch someone without their permission, but it’s the surest way to get me to move in the opposite direction and ignore you if I can.

So now I try to steer conversations to what the other person needs/wants and gloss over their question, hoping they’ll take the hint.  The good news is that I only have 2 weeks left of work before I go on leave, so the dodgeball will end soon.

Author: Torra

A librarian, dog owner, tea drinker, and lover of all things unusual and literary.

Leave a Reply

